Saturday, June 20, 2015

Dark Matters

********NOTE: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS! PLEASE DO NOT READ ANY FURTHER IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED DARK MATTERS!************


Author: Yo$hik
# of levels: 5
Rating: 7/10
Difficulty: Medium to Hard

Yo$hik has returned with another interesting addon for Rtcw SP. Dark Matters is a 5 level addon, but the last map is only a cutscene. As far as gameplay goes, that means there are only 4 playable levels.

The theme for Dark Matters is something that is currently an unused idea for Rtcw SP releases: aliens! That's right, aliens are in Dark Matters. Unfortunately, the player doesn't get the opportunity to fight them. Starting with the last playable level, you will see dead aliens everywhere. It seems that the Nazis had fun with experimenting on the aliens.

But first, let's start at the beginning of Dark Matters. According to the mission briefing, the player is apparently an agent who is searching for one of his comrades, who was captured by the Nazis. The player arrives on a train, similar to the beginning of Vendetta, which is another addon made by Yo$hik.

But instead of being a spy who sneaked onto the train (in the case of Vendetta), the player apparently was brought to a Nazi-occupied village along with a group of prisoners. The player then must sneak past the guards, until he reaches a hotel.

Once he arrives at the hotel, he finds a woman in a wine cellar who is tied to a wall. She apparently was one of the hotel workers who was tied to the wall by the agent that the player is searching for. The agent did this to prevent the woman from alerting the Nazis about his presence.

In the wine cellar, the player finds a key to one of the hotel rooms. Inside the hotel room is a case containing 2 weapons: the Sten and the Silenced Luger. A flak jacket is also laying near the case.

After the player is armed with weaponry, he must fight his way through a part of the town, and enter a cathedral. Inside the cathedral are SS soldiers who are rather dangerous with their high accuracy. The player must then enter the basement of the cathedral after he makes it through the top area.

After going through a small torture chamber, the player will enter a laboratory. From here on is where things become strange and creepy. There are dead bodies everywhere in the lab. The walls and floors are covered with blood. Parts of the lab are destroyed or are on fire. Something is not right...

In the 4th level, the player will notice something rather disturbing. There are dead aliens everywhere, some attached to the ceiling, and others laying on tables. It's clear that the Nazis were experimenting on some aliens, but the aliens fought back.

Near the end of Dark Matters, the player encounters Deathshead, who has 2 female assistants for some reason...( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)


Anyway, the player must fight 2 protosoldiers, who are rather tough. After the player defeats them, he will stop to observe the madness that the Nazis have been conducting in the laboratory. Unfortunately, one of Deathshead's assistants walks behind him, and knocks him out with a needle injection. Deathshead has some plans for the agent...


The final level will show what plans Deathshead had exactly. The player is apparently now a supersoldier. The player failed in his mission to find his captured comrade.


Meanwhile, a group of Nazis are observing a temple located on top of a snowy mountain. They have a conversation, which quickly turns into a rather noisy argument. The noise attracts some aliens who are hiding within the shadows of the temple. What happens after that is obvious.


Now that I've explained the story of Dark Matters, I'll discuss the enemies.


The enemies include:

~ Nazi Soldiers

~ Venom Soldiers

~ Officers

~ Protosoldiers

~ Scientists


As you can see, there isn't much variety with the type of enemies.


The enemy weapons include:

~ MP40

~ Mauser Rifle

~ Luger

~ Flamethrower

~ Venom

~ Panzerfaust

~ Tesla


On the other hand, the weaponry in Dark Matters has quite a bit of variety. This combined with the low amount of health packs makes Dark Matters a challenge.

As I said before, the enemies can be very accurate, so it's a good idea to take your time and save often.

There are some secret areas and treasure hidden in Dark Matters. Some are really easy to find, while others are a bit difficult. One of them in particular requires some trick jumping.

As usual from Yo$hik, Dark Matters includes quite a bit of custom content, such as new textures, custom sounds, custom models, and custom music. The notebook (N key) is finally not empty, which is an improvement for Yo$hik.

Another improvement is the use of animated custom models, such as the civilians inside the hotel of the first level, and the guinea pigs inside some cages in the first laboratory level.

The main menu for Dark Matters is obviously custom, and I really like it. It really sets the mood, in my opinion.

You may be wondering: why is the score for Dark Matters a 7/10? I will answer that question now.
Like Yo$hik's other works, there are still many bugs in this release. Also, there was supposed to be an English version of Dark Matters, but it apparently was canceled.

Other than that, Dark Matters is a well-made addon. But I think that Vendetta and especially Devils Manor 2: Edge of Darkness are much better overall when compared to Dark Matters. Another reason why Dark Matters pales in comparison to Yo$hik's other works is due to how short it is (only 5 levels).

The atmosphere in Dark Matters is great, but it's not as good as Yo$hik's other works. I'm sure that many of you agree with me on that.


That's about all that I have to say. Thanks for reading!

Dark Matters Trailer (made by Yo$hik): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0qqt20ILFkE

Walkthrough by Vicpas (level 1): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PR3gN7T54o
Walkthrough by Vicpas (level 2): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4zQH0mWSPg
Walkthrough by Vicpas (level 3): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yR5QryLUUcQ
Walkthrough by Vicpas (level 4): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_3tFhOxab30

My playthrough: http://mikebwolf.wix.com/ronboyproductions#!New-Rtcw-SP-Videos-Uploaded/c12im/55bd767c0cf22a872584f3f6

General Red's playthrough: http://goo.gl/GVMDnM

Confused on how to install Rtcw SP addons? Watch this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzbOUVNa89E










Saturday, March 21, 2015

Horrors of Hell

************NOTE: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS. IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED HORRORS OF HELL YET, PLEASE DO NOT READ ANY FURTHER.**********

Author: Ronboy (Mike Smith)
# of levels: 3
Rating: 8.3/10
Difficulty: Easy to Medium

My latest release, Horrors of Hell, is a three level addon for Rtcw SP, and my last release (at least on the Quake 3 Arena engine). I don't want to elaborate on this, since it will go off-topic.

If you are familiar with my earlier works (Hell Mappack and Hell Mappack Remake), you will notice a similarity in the map names, map design, and the themes. Horrors of Hell is intended to be a "reboot" for these two releases.

Indeed, it is a reboot, and a well done reboot, in my opinion. Despite the relatively shortness of the maps, the whole addon is almost free of any bugs, and there are some new effects that I've learned as a mapper, to implement them into my project.

An optional stealth mode for the first level, new traps, and more interesting level design are among some of the positive attributes that I can list for Horrors of Hell. Like my previous works, there is quite a bit of custom content available in Horrors of Hell.

Since having BJ be the hero is overdone, I decided to take a different approach, and use someone different. As a result, I came up with a (fictional) highly experienced Russian soldier named Pavlov. You will notice in the OSA briefing for the first level that Pavlov has been given the task of putting a stop to another of the SS Paranormal Division's diabolical projects.

Like my previous works Operation Deathshead and Project Uran, Horrors of Hell uses all 3 custom weapons that are currently available: the Russian PPSH, the German MP44, and the German K43 Rifle. Note that the PPSH was not in Operation Deathshead or Project Uran, so it is actually a new weapon that I've never included before in any of my works. The true challenge (according to other players who have played Horrors of Hell) is conserving ammunition. If you are struggling to finish Horrors of Hell due to low health/ammo, just remember to save the game often. When you don't save the game, dying and having to start the map all over again can become frustrating.

The first level contains no secret areas, but the second and third levels have some. If you want to find all secrets and treasure, be sure to take your time and explore. The secrets are pretty well hidden, but not as good as in some other recent releases such as Flying Saucers.

The ambiance starts out normal, but slowly becomes more creepy as you enter the depths of Hell. If you pay attention to the cutscenes and read all of the letters/clipboards, then you will get a good understanding of what is happening. I think that I may have failed somewhat with making Horrors of Hell as atmospheric as Devils Manor 2: Edge of Darkness, but I at least tried.

Out of all of the custom content used in Horrors of Hell, my favorite is definitely the soundtrack "The House of Leaves" by Kevin Macleod. It's very suiting, especially when you're wondering through the dimension of Hell.

In terms of difficulty, the first level has a medium difficulty, while the second and third levels have a mixture of easy and medium. The first level has an optional stealth mode, which will turn into a tough action mode if the alarm is triggered near the map's beginning. It is entirely possible to survive this action mode (without cheating). Just always remember to be careful of your surroundings, and save often. Rushing through the maps will highly increase your chances of dying, which is usually the case will most Rtcw SP releases. Be careful with the second and third levels, because there are some traps that will instantly kill you.

The enemies include:
~ Nazi Soldiers
~ Scientists
~ Mechanics
~ Venom Soldiers
~ Protosoldiers
~ Lopers
~ Zombies
~ Warrior Zombies
~ Femzombie (Zombie Marianna)
~ Flame Zombie
~ Olaric
~ Heinrich
~ Priestess

The enemy weapons include:
~ MP40
~ MP44
~ K43 Rifle
~ Scoped Mauser
~ MG42
~ Luger
~ Venom
~ Panzerfaust
~ Tesla

As you can see, there are a variety of weapons and enemies, which are very important to the quality of a release, in my opinion.

Overall, I think that Horrors of Hell is a short, but great addon for Rtcw SP. It's probably my best release, by far. There was room for improvement, but nothing is perfect. If you have tried Horrors of Hell, but haven't completed it yet, give it another try and finish it. I think that you will enjoy it.

That's about all that I want to say. Thanks for reading!

 Trailer for Horrors of Hell (thanks Titeuf-85!): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QPZjbd_l8k4

Confused on how to install Rtcw SP addons? Watch this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzbOUVNa89E



Walkthrough by Vicpas: http://mikebwolf.wix.com/ronboyproductions#!More-New-Rtcw-SP-Videos-Uploaded/c12im/55d8ef010cf20831ee3b9d7c


Playthrough by General Red: http://goo.gl/zlj7Dp


My playthrough for Horrors of Hell: http://tinyurl.com/otk7fph




Saturday, January 31, 2015

Flying Saucers

************NOTE: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS. IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED FLYING SAUCERS YET, PLEASE DO NOT READ ANY FURTHER.**********

Author: Depro777 (Denis Nevajno)
# of levels: 12
Rating: 9.2/10
Difficulty: Medium to Hard

Flying Saucers is one of the longest releases for Rtcw SP. Although 2 of the 12 levels are only cutscenes, leaving the number of playable levels to be 10, that doesn't stop this addon from being great.
Flying Saucers has been in development for a few years, and it was finally finished and released a few weeks ago. The author, Depro777, doesn't seem to have much confidence that this addon will be anything special, according to a conversation that I had with him. I don't agree with this, because Flying Saucers is great. When the addon was in the testing stages of development, it wasn't as great. But many errors were corrected to make this addon memorable.
I say that this addon is memorable for quite a few reasons. Keep on reading to discover those reasons.

To begin with, you are given the choice of playing the standalone version (having the original Rtcw game is not required) or the addon version (having the original Rtcw game is required). I played the standalone version until the addon version was released. Once the addon version was released, I removed the standalone version, because I prefer the addon version of releases.

The difficulty of Flying Saucers starts off rather easy, but it becomes more challenging as you complete each level. The toughest levels, in my opinion, are the maps darkles and karyer, due to tough enemies and scattered health. These 2 levels are especially tough, but you shouldn't have to resort to cheating in order to finish them. Just remember to save often, and conserve your ammo/health.

Some of the levels remind me of the original Rtcw SP maps (the default maps). The atmosphere also is similar to the original maps. The crypt levels have great ambiance as well as traps, zombies, and secret areas. The traps in the crypt levels are quite creative, such as a large boulder rolling down a narrow hallway towards the player. There are other traps too, but I won't mention them.

There are some moments of Flying Saucers that are quite exciting, like a truck ride in the map darkles, with enemies shooting at you as the truck drives by them. It can be difficult to survive at times, but you must keep trying. If I was able to finish Flying Saucers (without cheating), then anyone can finish it.

There are quite a few secret areas that are difficult to find. Even after playing Flying Saucers over and over, I still don't know how to access certain secret areas. The author was quite creative with the placement of the secrets, as well as the level design and special effects. You will have to take your time if you want to find all secrets.

Most of the content (or about over half) is default, but there is some custom content used. For example, there are 3 new and 3 (not quite new) weapons:

  • MP44
  • K43 Rifle
  • Mosin Nagant
  • TT33
  • RGD-33 Grenades (only available in the standalone version)
  • PPSH

The MP44 is a modified version of the MP44 from the Additional Weapons Mod by Alexandre. It uses it's own ammo instead of 9mm ammo (which Alexandre's MP44 used).
The K43 Rifle is a modified version of the K43 from Alexandre's Mod. But unlike Alexandre's K43, this one has a slightly slower firing rate. It still uses 792mm ammo like Alexandre's K43 does.
 The Mosin Nagant is a brand new weapon that has never been used in Rtcw before. Some other World War 2 games that I know use this weapon are Call of Duty, Call of Duty: United Offensive, and Call of Duty 2. It only has 5 bullets per round, and you won't get any ammo for it obviously (since you will be behind enemy lines), so use it wisely!
The TT33 is the other new weapon, which has never been used in Rtcw before. This pistol was only available in other games like Call of Duty: United Offensive and Call of Duty 2. Like the Mosin, you won't get any ammo for it, so use it wisely!
The RGD-33 Grenades are another new weapon, which haven't been used in Rtcw before. All of the early Call of Duty games have these grenades available, and now they can be used in Flying Saucers! They can't seem to be thrown far, and they have a high damage radius compared to the German "potato-masher" grenades, so be careful when throwing them, and use them wisely. You have only once chance to get ammo for these grenades, and that's in a secret area on the map dep_lab.
The PPSH is the last custom weapon. The main differences between this modified version and Alexandre's version are: The default key to access it on your keyboard is 8 (it was 5 with Alexandre's version), and it will overheat if you fire it for too long (Alexandre's version didn't overheat).

As you can see, the additional weapons that are included with Flying Saucers help make the addon even better. There are currently no addons that have the TT33, Mosin Nagant, and RGD-33 Grenades included, so having them included with Flying Saucers was a great idea. It really makes the addon special when compared to other addons.

Some of the default content has been modified, such as the "potato-masher" grenades (they have a custom texture, but this feature is only available in the standalone version). Some of the default doors, walls, and logos have replaced what ever they had originally with a UFO (flying saucer) logo. You will see what I mean when you look at the textures yourself.

There are some custom sounds, models, and textures included with Flying Saucers. Some custom skins (for Russian soldiers and officers) can be found in a few of the cutscenes. There are also some custom skins for some of the enemies. Depro777 really put a lot of effort into making Flying Saucers unique.

Among the custom sounds are some new dialogue, which are thankfully in English. The English is not broken either, but the accent may be a bit difficult to understand for some players. There is a little bit of custom music (in the opening cutscene), but the rest is default.

The AI are surprisingly clever at times, and you will have to think things through before you make a decision. Like I said earlier, remember to save often, and conserve health/ammo.

Flying Saucers has a custom main menu, even if you didn't download the standalone version. The player's notebook (N key) works, and there are some custom clipboards and letters in some of the maps.

The theme for Flying Saucers is obviously the Nazi involvement with UFO's (UFO= Unidentified Flying Object). The space theme was tried before in a past release (Operation Redmoon by PolygonValley), but it was never finished unfortunately. That's okay though, because we now have Flying Saucers, which is much better!

The environments for each level will change, like from a snowy village to a factory complex to crypts. The whole idea and aspect of Flying Saucers is truly creative, especially since there are currently no (finished) Rtcw releases out there that use the space/UFO/alien theme.

The enemies that you will face in Flying Saucers include:

  • Doctors/Scientists
  • Soldiers/Guards
  • Paratroopers/Blackguards
  • Zombies
  • Warrior Zombies
  • Flame Zombies
  • Lopers
  • 1 Supersoldier
  • Protosoldiers
  • 1 Olaric
  • 1 Priestess Zombie
  • Officers
  • Elite Guards
  • Venom Soldiers
As you can see, there are a variety of enemies to fight, almost every enemy from the original Rtcw SP campaign. 

The weapons of the enemy include:
  • Luger
  • MP40
  • MP44
  • K43 Rifle
  • FG42
  • Mauser Rifle
  • Sniper Scope (Mauser with a scope)
  • Flamethrower
  • Venom
  • Panzerfaust
  • Sten
  • MG42
  • Tesla
  • "Potato-masher" Grenades
As you can see, the enemy has some tough weaponry, almost every weapon included in Rtcw.

If you read the credits, you will notice that I was one of the testers for Flying Saucers. I was happy to help Depro777 make this addon as error-free as possible. Despite this, there are some (rather small) errors that still exist (which is why I didn't give this addon a rating of 10/10), but they shouldn't affect your enjoyment.

Overall, it's great to see that another large project was successfully finished and released to the Rtcw community. I enjoyed Flying Saucers, and I hope that you enjoyed/will enjoy it as well.

That's all for this review. Thanks for reading!




My playthrough of Flying Saucers: http://tinyurl.com/pxh8roc


General Red's playthrough: http://goo.gl/eQuILj


Saturday, October 25, 2014

Project Uran

Author: Ronboy (Mike Smith and Ron Smith)
# of levels: 2
Rating: 8.5/10
Difficulty: Easy to Medium (1st level), Medium to Hard (2nd level)


****************NOTE: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS. DO NOT READ ANY MORE IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED PROJECT URAN YET.***********************

Project Uran is a 2 level addon, and the sequel to Greenbrier on the Rhine. Ron and I were the authors of this addon.

Like Greenbrier, there are 2 maps in this mission. Although the Greenbrier and Uran levels aren't connected (your ammo, stats, etc. aren't carried over), the story and setting are indeed connected. The difficulty is easy to medium for the first level (because the zombies are easy), and medium to hard for the second level (because some of the Nazis are tough).

Continuing where Greenbrier finished, you and your escort must navigate the underground tunnels, looking for any intel as well as the escape route. Expect the unexpected, because some surprises await you...

The lighting in both maps, especially the first map, is mostly dark. It's recommended to turn up your monitor brightness, turn off any light sources in the room, or anything else that might make viewing your screen difficult.

The story involves an idea that has never been used in a Rtcw map before: uranium! That's why the addon's name is Project Uran (Uran means uranium in the German language). To get a full understanding of the story, you should read the clipboards and letters that are available in both maps.

The enemies are:
~ Zombies
~ Warrior Zombies
~ Femzombie (Zombie Marianna)
~ Flame Zombie
~ Nazi Soldiers
~ Nazi Officers
~ Scientists
~ Mechanics


The enemy weapons include:
~ MP44
~ Luger
~ Sten
~ K43 Rifle
~ Silenced Luger
~ MG42
~ Mauser Sniper Rifle

Like Greenbrier, the enemies and their weapons aren't full of variety. Despite that, Project Uran is still a fun addon to play, and is a good sequel to Greenbrier. The notebook (N key) is not empty like it was in Greenbrier. The 2 new custom weapons (MP44 and K43 Rifle) are available in Project Uran, but not Greenbrier.

The installation of Project Uran is very different than the installation of Greenbrier. I won't list the instructions here, since this is a review. You can find the instructions and other information on the readme file provided with the Project Uran download. The maps will not work correctly if you don't follow the instructions. Don't let that discourage you from downloading the addon, because you should only have to install it once.

With Project Uran, there is a good amount of custom music, textures, and more that make the addon more unique. You will be fighting zombies in the first map, and Nazis in the second map. One thing that got my attention was the issue of lag (low fps) in the second map. This is partly due to the map not being "fully" optimized, but it also could be caused by using an old computer. I didn't have any problems on both my mapping and gaming computers (both are running Windows 7), and most of the players haven't reported any lag problems, so I'm not going to fix it. To those of you who are receiving lag, I will try to optimize any future maps to the best of my ability, which will hopefully reduce the lag issues.

About treasure/secret areas, there aren't any secrets, but the first level has some treasure that you should be able to find easily. I know that the lack of secrets is disappointing, but that doesn't make Project Uran bad.

That's all I really have to say about this addon. Thanks for reading!

General Red's playthrough of Project Uran (Part 1): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ATSbPYi-mI
General Red's playthrough of Project Uran (Part 2): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcf4QDX_jXc

Walkthrough by Vicpas: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7j1uCj2BUVU

My playthrough of Project Uran (Level 1): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xPmXtQ3_0d4&list=PLYWhrG56_-7pUvaR1ykuZIN4zz8n8xeOR&index=28
My playthrough of Project Uran (Level 2): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AyMubVWVWaA&index=29&list=PLYWhrG56_-7pUvaR1ykuZIN4zz8n8xeOR





Monday, July 28, 2014

The Fortress 2 (Version 1.1)

Author: Vicente Pasquino (Vicpas)
# of levels: 6
Rating: 8.8/10
Difficulty: Easy to Medium

The Fortress 2 is an addon for Rtcw sp developed by Vicpas. Development for this project took a few years, but finally Vicpas finished the project as an "almost perfect" addon.

There are a total of 6 maps. One of them is just a cutscene. The difficulty is easy, but tough in some areas, giving it a "easy to medium" difficulty. You are dropped near a German occupied fortress via parachute, and there are a variety of enemies to fight.

The enemies are:
~ Lopers
~ Proto soldiers
~ Super soldiers
~ Normal infantry soldiers
~ Officers
~ A scientist
~ Mechanics
~ Marianna Blavatsky
~ Venom/Flamethrower soldiers
~ Eva (Half dressed woman)
~ Zombies
~ Flame Zombies
~ Warrior Zombies
~ Olaric
~ Femzombie (green zombie)
~ A elite guard
~ Black Guards

The enemy weapons include:
~ MP40
~ Mauser Rifle
~ Luger
~ MG42
~ Silenced Luger
~ Sten
~ FG42
~ MP44
~ Flamethrower
~ Venom
~ Panzerfaust
~ Tesla
~ Grenades

As you can see, most of the enemies from the original Rtcw maps are present in The Fortress 2.

There are also some civilians and Allies:
~ A Inge (Female Civilian)
~ (Russian?) Partisans

The partisan weapons include:
~ PPSH
~ MP40
~ Scoped Mauser
~ Mauser Rifle

I'm not sure if these partisans are Russian or not, because they have red colored uniforms, similar to those of a Russian partisan/soldier.

The partisans make their appearance in the map "level3", as they are attacking a German facility and need your help. The Inge also appears in this map. Don't kill her! :)

I like the variety that The Fortress 2 has to offer. The setting varies from military complexes to crypts. Each level in The Fortress 2 gives you a few objectives, or many objectives. The notebook (N key) works, and can be very helpful with keeping track of your objectives.

Each level contains a secret area or two, as well as treasure.

Each level also has a briefing screen, similar to the original Rtcw maps. There is a custom main menu as well as a new loading screen instead of the default black screen with the Wolf logo in the bottom right corner. Another treat from Vicpas is a wallpaper, which can be found inside the folder for this addon.

There are a few custom sounds, textures, models, and more. The Fortress 2 used to have many bugs and errors, but thanks to my private testings, The Fortress 2 was "almost perfect", as stated by Vicpas in an email to me. I was happy to help in any way I could.

You are given the choice to play with or without the new weapons from the "Additional Weapons Mod" by Alexandre, as well as new weapon sounds.

The opening cutscene to The Fortress 2 is really interesting. We see an American plane being attacked by anti-aircraft fire. BJ is then seen jumping out of the plane in a parachute. From there, he begins his mission!

I don't want to spoil too much, so that's all I will mention regarding what happens next. You may wonder why The Fortress 2 has a rating of 8.8/10, despite being free of many bugs and errors. This is simply because most of the maps are "too easy", at least in my opinion. At least there are some challenging segments to make up for the easiness.

While I enjoyed the use of the default music, it would have been nice to have at least one custom music used in The Fortress 2. Other than that and the "too easy" difficulty, I think The Fortress 2 is worth playing.

My playthrough of The Fortress 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BeJcWier8ew&list=PLYWhrG56_-7pUvaR1ykuZIN4zz8n8xeOR&index=30

General Red's playthrough:  http://goo.gl/HJvHF3

Note: The link above will show you the Intro level. The rest of the levels can be found in the playlist on Youtube.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

Generator

Author: Ken "Kat" Beyer
# of levels: 3
Rating: 8.5/10
Difficulty: Easy to Medium

For about 10 years or so, Kat, who is the author of Mages Skulls, Relic Hunt, and Castlekeep, had supposedly abandoned the development of his Generator project. But a few years ago, Me, Vicpas, and some other Rtcw fans were able to convince Kat to continue development with the project.

A few months ago, Kat sent Generator to me and Vicpas for testing. We helped Kat find bugs and also gave him some suggestions for the gameplay. And in April of 2014, Generator was finally released to the public as a final version, after about 10 years of development.

The story of Generator is simple: the player (I'm not sure if it's BJ or someone else) is sent on a mission to destroy some Generators that control water processing. Unlike the other maps by Kat, there are no zombies or anything related to the occult. You will be encountering the following:
  • Guards
  • Mechanics
  • Scientists
  • One officer
  • Two Supersoldiers
  • One Protosoldier
The weapons that the enemies have include:
  • Mp40
  • Luger
  • Mauser Rifle
  • Panzerfaust
  • Venom
The first level was great. I was expecting at least one zombie in the graveyard area, but I was disappointed when none appeared. There are 2 gold bars hidden in the graveyard. You will need a grenade to gain access to the treasure.

On the second level, the player must rescue a British spy who is being held prisoner. When he is rescued, he somehow runs out of his cell armed with a mp40, then stands guard by the gate. He will leave when the player enters his cell, which triggers a cutscene showing the spy leaving.

All 3 levels have custom notebook entries and clipboards, which is very creative. There is a secret area on level 2, which contains a gold bar. It's under a flag, near the area where the prisoner is being held.

Another secret area on level 2 is behind some barrels and crates. You will need a grenade to destroy them. This secret area contains some ammo and a flak jacket.

Level 3 is the final level. You must not kill the unarmed scientists, otherwise the mission will fail. The "don't shoot" icon for the crosshair does not appear on these unarmed scientists, so be careful who you shoot. The proto and supersoldiers mentioned above appear in this level, so watch out. The protosoldier has a panzerfaust, and the 2 supersoldiers have venom guns, so I would be more concerned about facing the protosoldier.

There is a secret area somewhere on level 3, but I have no idea where it is. All I know is that it doesn't have any treasure, since the mission stats at the end of level 3 say "Treasure 0/0".

You need dynamite to destroy the first 2 generators, but the other 2 can be destroyed with grenades. Throughout all 3 levels, you will need grenades to destroy structures and access secret areas, so make sure to conserve your grenade supply.

The enemies of Generator are fairly easy to kill. If you have any difficulty, it will probably be on the last level. Health and ammo are plentiful, so you should be fine.

I will admit that Generator isn't as great as Mages Skulls and Relic Hunt, but it's still a great addon. Generator lacks a custom menu, when compared to Mages Skulls and Relic Hunt. Despite this, I think Generator is worth playing.

If Kat starts on another project for Rtcw, I suggest it to have the occult theme, since Kat makes great maps with a great atmosphere when doing the occult theme.

My playthrough of Generator: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hVS6BUmwPzM&list=PLYWhrG56_-7pUvaR1ykuZIN4zz8n8xeOR&index=23

Walkthrough by Vicpas: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZN9-vgy5QM0

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Industrial Espionage: Engineer Assassination

Author: W0lfman
# of levels: 1
Rating: 9.5/10
Difficulty: Easy to Medium

W0lfman has released yet another map in the Industrial Espionage series. This time, BJ must assassinate a high ranking engineer that is paying a visit to an industrial facility. The main objective, which is to kill the engineer, can be achieved at the very beginning of the map.

I saw a few design errors, and the engineer was basically unprotected from the wrath of BJ, which is why I gave this map a 9.5/10. The other objective is simply to escape the facility. While this map is more interesting and slightly more challenging than Industrial Espionage: Threat Assessment (W0lfman's last map release), I think that the few design errors that remained in the map could have been eliminated, and the difficulty level could have been harder than it was.

While W0lfman's last map release didn't have any cutscenes, this map has 1 at the beginning, showing the engineer getting stuck in an elevator, which once again showed some humor that W0lfman has. =)

There are 2 secret areas in this map. I found both of them, and also completed the map on my first try, without dying and cheating. The enemies in this map include:

  • Guards (Soldiers)
  • Scientists
  • Mechanics
  • Paratroopers
  • One officer
The enemies weapons include:

  • Luger
  • Mp40
  • Fg42
As you can see, this map doesn't have much variety as far as enemies are concerned. But that's understandable, given the setting of this map.

Back to the secret areas. Both of the secrets can be accessed from the same room. The 1st secret has a mauser rifle, fg42, ammo, and health. The 2nd secret has an armored helmet, 792mm ammo, and health. There are also a sniper scope and small health pack hidden in one of the big rooms.

One thing I found strange was a vent system that can't be accessed, but was fully textured (I investigated the map using the noclip cheat after I had completed the map without cheating.) Maybe W0lfman was thinking of making this vent system into a secret area, but the idea was scrapped?

Just like W0lfman's last map release, there is no working notebook, and the map uses only default content. Despite this, the map is an interesting piece of work from W0lfman, and I hope to see more in the future.

One more thing. Although the map ends with the credits screen like any map should, I don't see how this is connected to the last map (Threat Assessment). The player starts this map outside a vent system, and in Threat Assessment, the map ended at a door. I just think that there should be a connection with these maps. After all, they are in the same series (Industrial Espionage).

My playthrough of Industrial Espionage: Engineer Assassination: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PUMc-k3o4tE&index=21&list=PLYWhrG56_-7pUvaR1ykuZIN4zz8n8xeOR


General Red's playthrough of Industrial Espionage: Engineer Assassination: http://tinyurl.com/nq7ad4u


Walkthrough by Vicpas: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SAQGIBXTAhs